Our History

The Young Greens are the youth network of the Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand. We represent Greens up to the age of 35 years old.

We are the most active network of the Party with hundreds of members around the country.

The Young Greens have an MP, Chlöe Swarbrick, in Parliament.

We hold two major events each year. Our legendary Summer Camp is traditionally held at Jeanette Fitzsimons’ farm in the Coromandel. This is where we have our Annual General Meeting and elect our officers for the year. We have also had a Winter Camp, which is held in the Wellington region, for the past few years. Both of these camps are a great opportunity to meet fellow Young Greens and take part in workshops and activism to take your political engagement to the next level!

The Young Greens are an important part of the Green election campaign. We are particularly focused on improving the rate of enrolment and voting among young people, especially 18-24 year olds, through our Mobilising Aotearoa voter enrolment campaign. If you’d like to help, please contact the Young Greens Co-Convenors.